11 Largest Islands of The Philippines

→ → Go back HOME to Zamboanga: the Portal to the Philippines.
Philippine Flag.gif

List of the 17 Regions in the Philippines
National - Capital Region I - Ilocos II - Cagayan III - C. Luzon IV-A - Calabarzon IV-B - Mimaropa V - Bicol VI - W. Visayas VII - C. Visayas VIII - E. Visayas IX - Zamboanga X - N. Mindanao XI - Davao XII - Soccsksargen XIII - Caraga XIV - CAR XV - BARMM

Islands of The Philippines | Luzon Islands Group | Visayas Islands Group | Mindanao Islands Group | 11 Largest Islands of The Philippines

11 Largest Islands of The Philippines

The Philippines has a total of 7,107 islands and majority of them are small in size, and some even disappear below the water when high tide comes around. Out of all those emerald islands that surround the Philippine archipelago like a dazzling necklace of natural beauty, there are eleven islands that are the largest of the Philippines, encompassing a total area of 276,890 square kilometers out of the 298,170 square kilometers that belongs to the country. That represents 93% of the Philippines' total land area. The majority of the Filipino population are found within those 11 largest islands and they are listed below:

11 Largest Philippine Islands
Island Name Island Size
1 Luzon 104,688 sq km
2 Mindanao 94,631 sq km
3 Samar 13,079 sq km
4 Negros 12,704 sq km
5 Palawan 11,785 sq km
6 Panay 11,515 sq km
7 Mindoro 9,736 sq km
8 Leyte 7,213 sq km
9 Cebu 4,408 sq km
10 Bohol 3,862 sq km
11 Masbate 3,269 sq km
Total Area: 276,890 sq km
Country 298,170 sq km